Day 6: 15 Habits of Great Writers Challenge

I have decided to participate in the 15 Habits of Great Writers Challenge, led by Jeff Goins. So, for the next 9 days I plan to write a short post on a different habit of great writers. The habit for Day 6 (today) is STEAL.

Lets begin….

Steal: Good, Bad, Ugly?

When we hear someone (anyone!) use this word ‘STEAL’, we automatically get a negative picture in our mind- right? I did… but the quote by Jim below changed my perspective…

“Nothing is original. Steal from anywhere that resonates with inspiration or fuels your imagination. Devour old films, new films, music, books, paintings, photographs, poems, dreams, random conversations, architecture, bridges, street signs, trees, clouds, bodies of water, light and shadows. Select only things to steal from that speak directly to your soul. If you do this, your work (and theft) will be authentic. Authenticity is invaluable; originality is non-existent. And don’t bother concealing your thievery – celebrate it if you feel like it. In any case, always remember what Jean-Luc Godard said: “It’s not where you take things from – it’s where you take them to.”
― Jim Jarmusch

See what I just did? I stole Jim’s quote (yes, I gave him due credit) but nevertheless, I stole it and used it in my blog. I use quotes all the time. For me, they are a way to express, in a few words, what others might take pages to say and yet rarely succeed. I also steal images and write pieces around them. I steal moments– from my life- and then I think-feel & write.

Today, let me steal this inspirational article by Geoffrey James on How to be happy at work.

I read the article yesterday, and it just got stuck in my mind. I agree with Geoffrey when he quotes, “When you’re unhappy, it’s because you’ve decided to be unhappy.”

He goes on to say “Happiness and unhappiness (in work and in life) result entirely from the rules in your head that you use to evaluate events.  Those rules determine what’s worth focusing on, and how you react to what you focus on.”

As I was reading this article, all I kept thinking was- how true this was for happiness in general and not just work related happiness. It sure is all about RULES in life. If you think that something would make you unhappy, then it sure will. I am not saying that you shoudn’t expect or that you should keep on sacrificing on different fronts just to be happy. But all I am saying is- draw a line!

All you need to do is follow these simple steps: Understand yourself. Understand the things that make you unhappy. Tell your close-ones (or anyone else who is a stakeholder in that particular problem) about these things…. and if they still can’t understand, reason with them!

In the end, its all about Communication- with yourself and with others. If the channels for communication are used pro-actively…. things will definitely work-out… coz they always do!

3 thoughts on “Day 6: 15 Habits of Great Writers Challenge

  1. You talk about stealing and then you talk about happiness/ unhappiness? I don’t see the transition happening. Post also ends abruptly (communication?)… looks like you’ve written it in a jiffy!

    • yupp… I was actually trying to finish this in 5-10mins! 😦
      Steal is the word of the day… and the article on happiness is my inspiration (what I stole) and wrote on…
      Great feedback! * 🙂

  2. Well I used to agree with Khaled Hosseini “There is only one sin. And that is theft. Every other sin is a variation of theft.”
    But your post has certainly forced a rethink. You are evolving as a writer, in a good way of course 🙂

Leave a Reply

